Skip to main content

Bin collection dates over Christmas

Published Tuesday 28 November, 2023
Last updated on Thursday 22 February, 2024

Christmas is a busy time for people, and with all the presents, meals and drinks there can be a lot of waste and recycling to get rid of.

With Christmas Day and Boxing Day falling on weekdays, household bin collection days will be changing over the Christmas period as the waste and recycling operatives take a well-earned break.

Collections will change from:

  • Monday 25 December to Wednesday 27 December
  • Tuesday 26 December to Thursday 28 December
  • Wednesday 27 December to Friday 29 December
  • Thursday 28 December to Saturday 30 December
  • Friday 29 December to Monday 1 January
  • Monday 1 January to Tuesday 2 January
  • Tuesday 2 January to Wednesday 3 January
  • Wednesday 3 January to Thursday 4 January
  • Thursday 4 January to Friday 5 January
  • Friday 5 January to Saturday 6 January

Regularly scheduled bin collections will continue from Monday 8 January 2024.

Cllr Rich Lehmann, chair of the environment committee, said:

“Almost everyone who celebrates Christmas is excited to spend some quality time with friends and family over the festive period.

“But it does create a lot of waste – from the packaging for the deliveries we’ve ordered, to the leftovers we can’t quite finish on Boxing Day and the days that follow.

“It’s really important we all try to recycle as much of our waste as possible, so we want people to know when we’re planning to collect and empty their bins.

“If you put the right materials - recycling, refuse and food waste - in all of the available bins, you should have enough space to get you through the festive season.

“Our bin collection staff, who work year-round to remove the waste from your households, also need this opportunity to have some well-deserved rest.

“We have arranged for the collection dates for bins to be pushed back two days during the week between Christmas Day and New Year, and then one day for the first week of January.

“Please make sure you know what the changes are in your area and make sure you’ve got the right bins out for collection on the correct days, and have a great Christmas!”

To check what goes in which bins, visit www.swale.gov.uk/what-goes-in-my-bin

We use cookies

Our website uses cookies to monitor the way you use it, helping to make your experience better. By continuing to use this site or clicking "accept cookies", you agree to our cookies. Cookie policy